Tourist Speak – best of 2008

The DCist blog has an archive of eavesdropping. (Full list here ) I noticed that the best quote of 2008 is about a family of tourists on the Metro. I would have loved to have been there for this one! Please send me your funny tourist quotes or tourist terminology, and I’ll post them here!

-Best of 2008-
At the Rosslyn Metro at 8:30 a.m. during morning rush hour:

Tourist family crams into a very crowded Metro car as the doors close.

Mom: “Wow, we actually made it! Wait, where’s Grandma?”
About 7-year old son: (points at platform) “Over there.”
Mom: “Oh no! We forgot Grandma! We need to go back. What are we going to do?!?!?! Grandmaaaaaaaa!”
Mom (angrily, to son): “I thought you were holding her hand.”
Son: “You said to get on the train. So I let go of her hand and got on.”

2 responses to “Tourist Speak – best of 2008

  1. Aaron Goldfarb

    Oh my god, that is the funniest thing I have ever heard. I’ve seen similar incidents on the NYC subway.

  2. dctouristsandlocals

    My favorite is when people put their shoe (briefcase, umbrella, hat, etc) in the doors to make them reopen so they can get in… it doesn’t work. The Metro WILL leave with your shoe, so beware tourists! There is even an advisory about it on the Metro website. (www.wmata.com)

Leave a Reply

