Stuff Washingtonians Like – Pictures with Political Figures

I actually had a coworker tell me that she and her husband went to the Vice President’s Christmas Party. Whoa, that’s a big deal, right? Then she tells me that she went solely for the purpose of getting a picture with him. I thought this was odd… if I were invited to a party with the VP, wouldn’t I want to chit chat and mingle? See and be seen? She explained that the “party” basically consisted of a long line that you join to wait your turn to take a picture with the VP – who is there for about 1 hour. It’s like sitting on Santa’s lap at the mall, but for adults. That does not sound like a fun party to me – not for Dick nor for the guests. Maybe I don’t fit in here afterall. (Shocking)

3 responses to “Stuff Washingtonians Like – Pictures with Political Figures

  1. Aaron Goldfarb

    Yes, this is 100% true. I know plenty of Washington semi-semi-insiders and this is what they consider fun: paying $1000 a plate to put on a tuxedo and get a picture with a grumpy white man.

  2. hahahaha. Do the adults cry when they’re told they can’t have tax cuts for Christmas?

  3. Perhaps now we can dress up to take pictures with a not-so-grumpy black man. I guess we’ll see after a few years in office how grumpy he gets!

Leave a Reply

