“Thin Privilege” and Fat Affirmative Action

Recently I’ve clicked on too many of the fat-related links that wordpress attaches to my posts… and found this one on “thin privilege.” This is basically the idea that thin people have all sorts of advantages over fat people, and how that’s just not fair (sigh, tear). Congress should forget about all this economy talk and wars and unemployment problems, and focus on the REAL issue, fat discrimination! Perhaps America needs some sort of Fat Affirmative Action policies to fight back against Fattism? …I didn’t think so either.

Just for kicks, here are some things being said by commenters in defense of being fat (and therefore underprivileged):

“- Diets don’t work, really, really, really, really.
– You CAN and SHOULD do and wear whatever you want at any size or shape.
– Nothing bad will happen if you eat whatever you feel like”

First of all, let me say that I completely disagree with every single one of those statements. DENIAL people, that is what I see here. And PLEASE, DO NOT wear a speedo/belly shirt/spandex if you are overweight or obese. PLEASE. I’m begging you. If you do, I will catch you on camera and make fun of you!

I’m starting this post category to point out all the examples of thin privilege that I see, and let you be the judge on my perceptions. First one…

Advantage of being thin: You can actually fit on the escalator

img_2104

“Jamal, where is the elevator?”

4 responses to ““Thin Privilege” and Fat Affirmative Action

  1. Hahahahaha. The Fattervator.

  2. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  3. Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

  4. OpentheBlastDoor

    Yes. My sentiments exactly. I just wrote a little something on “thin privilege” (well social privilege, in general) too. I’m quite happy to see that I’m not the only one taken aback by this developing “social problem.”

Leave a Reply

